When I offered to photograph an indoor karting session a work colleague had arranged for his 21st Birthday, I didn’t realise my aging Canon 400D would be pushed to its limits with such a low level of light.  With ISO pushed to it’s max of 1600, widest aperture on my EF 90-300mm lens, and even under exposing the RAW files to increase shutter speed, knowing I could recover some detail back home, I managed to capture more than a few decent images, with a small selection shown below (click here to see the full gallery).  As the 85 lap race progressed I used the conditions to get more ‘action’ shots, using motion blur from the slow shutter speeds deliberately.  Overall everyone is pleased with the results. Phew!

All Images Copyright Dale Rockell Photography

Leave a Reply

