Top Ten Images of 2011

Wow!  What a year it’s been for my first as a semi-professional photographer.

Prints have been sold and bookings for work including music bands, and of course national competition success.  It’s fair to say photography has become something of an obsession – looking for the next opportunity to capture something special.  It’s certainly brouoght out my creative side.

To sum up the year I thought I’d choose my top ten of my images from 2011.

Happy New Year! ~Dale

1. Sheringham Fishing Boats

Of all of my images, this is the one which has stopped people in their tracks at this years events.

Sheringham Fishing Boats

2. Twilight in Leighton Buzzard

My image of the Pendalino speeding through Leighton Buzzard Station was shortlisted and commended in the Network Rail section of the Take-A-View Awards 2011 (Landscape Photographer of the Year).  It has been included in the Awards Book and a slideshow as part of the 2 month exhibition at the National Theatre, London.

3. Sunset in Tring

Another image that has received a huge response.  Thank heavens for my 90-300mm lens!

4. I Forgot

It’s been great fun working with Leighton Buzzard’s I Forgot – especially as a long time rock fan.  The images I’ve captured have been very well received and gave me my first chance to shoot in gig lighting.

5. Soul Rhymaz

Another great band to work with, it’s always fun with Jay & Leo, and this video shoot produced some stunning stills, of which this is my absolute favourite.

6. Dungeness Lighthouse

A holiday that brought back childhood memories, and there was no way I was going to miss an early morning shoot at the lighthouse.

7. Firework Display

Pressing the shutter just before the fireworks exploded resulted in some fantastic images for my first Fireworks shoot with my DSLR camera.

8. Rushmere Park, Leighton Buzzard

A Sunday autumn morning family walk provided a challenge with sunlight streaming through the trees.  Fill in flash allowed my to get some stunning images, and my son is positioned perfectly in this one.

9. Red Arrows

After promising my son we’d see the Red Arrows, we got our chance.  More fun with my 90-300mm lens and half an hour of panning to get some great images.

10. Sleeping Lion

People don’t believe this was taken at Whipsnade Zoo, Bedfordshire, and it’s another that gets a lot of comments and ‘aaahs!’.  It’s my long lens again with a polariser through extremely thick glass on their enclosure.

Leave a Reply

